An Expat Who Appreciates Going Home

I have lived in Mexico for close to seventeen years and I can say that I there are many things I love about being here. I even made a list of the 200 things I love in honor of the bicentennial. Although I love Mexico I spend my summers in North Carolina at a wonderful place. If I were to write the ad for our “summer place” it would go something like this.Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 8.47.08 PM

“Join us for the summer. Your trip begins by us anticipating your every need before you even step on the plane. We will tailor your accommodations to fit your family perfectly. We remember all of your favorite foods and will have the refrigerator stocked for your arrival. Don’t worry about packing very much, your children will have as many, or more toys than they have at home. There will be a crib for your baby, and we will even add princess sheets to your daughter’s bed so she feels more at home.

When you arrive you will be greeted at the airport in a comfortable safe, van, with just the right car seats for your children (of course they will be installed). You will be able to use this van for your entire trip we even pay for some of the gas. Your kids will have small toys to keep them busy on the ride home, music, a DVD and even snacks and juice. There will be a cold drink waiting for you in the car.

Open arriving you will find a clean, comfortable, cozy home with plenty of space for everyone. There will be new toys and pjs for your children and surprises for you and your husband. You can get settled in and read your favorite magazines. We have been saving them for you for months. Enjoy a homemade dinner and then get your kids ready for bed in a fully stocked bathroom.

If your children are up early the next morning, no worries, we will play with them, and give them breakfast. We will make a fresh pot of coffee so that it’s ready as soon as you wake up. Yes, it’s from Krankie’s, of course we know it’s your favorite.

Your stay will include plenty of time for outdoor activities, such as but not limited to, the following: picking fresh blueberries (of course we will help your daughter to bake a pie with them), Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 8.40.41 PMrides in a  restored Model A (complete with car seats) swimming, fishing (the compost pile has plenty of worms), campfires, catching lightening bugs, arts and crafts, walks, riding tricycles, picking as many flowers from the garden as you want, blowing bubbles and eating tons of popsicles.

In addition, there will be plenty of field trips to local museums, shopping trips, nightly drum concerts featuring favorites from the 60s and 70s, and even a tea party for your daughters. There will be a long weekend to a local fair in a small town in Ohio, or perhaps a trip to the coast. When you are tired from all of the activities, we offer unlimited, free, totally safe, babysitting.

When it is time for you to go home we will help you pack, take you to the airport, give your children toys for the plane and clean up everything after you leave.

So, if you are up for the time of your life, just call us and give us a date. We take care of EVERYTHING to allow you to have the most enjoyable time possible.”

Sound good? I thought it might. Sorry I can’t share the information about how to make a reservation. We just like to call it grandma and grandpa’s house.Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 8.52.05 PM

As much as I love Mexico, I like many of you, miss people and things in other places. For me it happens especially at this time of year when I really feel “American” as I try to explain Halloween and Thanksgiving to my Mexican family and friends.

However, I am often reminded that although I am usually here, the summers at grandma and grandpa’s house along with Christmas and any other time we can make, allow my kids to know their family who “lives far away” and help me stay connected to my roots. It also reminds me to be very thankful for wonderful parents, brothers and sister who make our stay so easy and fun. I hope that if you are lucky enough to have family or friends who make your time “back home” easier you will thank them and if you are one of those special grandparents or family members who make everything easier, please know that you are surely appreciated.

2 thoughts on “An Expat Who Appreciates Going Home

Leave a Reply

