Instructional Coaching is like an Oreo Cookie

connectededucoach

At the beginning of this year I developed a short and simple way to describe the coaching process to the educators at my new schools. An Oreo Cookie popped into my head – probably because I was trying to stay away from sweets lately! I learned early on in my career as a professional development provider that teachers appreciate treats, especially after a long school day. Chocolate seems to do the trick! During my orientation I brought Oreo cookies with me as I briefly explained the coaching process.

How do you eat an Oreo cookie? Do you dunk it in milk? Do you twist off the outer cookies first and lick of the creamy center first? The beauty is there is no one right way to eat an Oreo. Everyone seems to have their own unique way to enjoy this treat.

The instructional coaching process to be similar…

View original post 888 more words

Leave a Reply

